GWU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates

466
GWU Academic Calendar.

The GWU academic calendar consists of exam schedules, class schedules, fall break, spring break, thanksgiving break, other important dates, and deadlines.

George Washington University is on a semester system. GW’s semesters are 14 weeks of instruction time plus a 15th week reserved for exams.

Courses that do not schedule a final exam nor have a final paper or project due during exam week must make up the instruction time during the 14 weeks of classes.

GWU Students are required to take 12 credits per semester (full-time enrollment). Some academic programs may require more than 12 credits each semester based on the progression of the curriculum.

GWU’s Make-Up Day is a day held to allow George Washington University and/or an individual faculty member to offer a make-up class for any unanticipated class cancellations or disruptions related to weather, emergencies, or a change to the class schedule.

Below are the important dates and deadlines on the GWU academic calendar for fall, spring, and summer.

GWU academic calendar fall 2022

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the GWU academic calendar fall 2022.

  1. GWU move in fall 2022 (Residence Hall Opening Week) is Thursday, August 18, 2022 – Sunday, August 28, 2022.
  2. GWU Upperclass Student Arrival is Thursday, August 18 – Friday, August 19 2022.
  3. First-Year Students participating in Pre-Orientation Programs is on Saturday, August 20 2022.
  4. First-Year Student Arrival is Sunday, August 21 – Monday, August 22 2022. Students assigned to the Mount Vernon Campus should plan to arrive on August 21 2022, unless they’re given an earlier arrival date through a pre-orientation program.
  5. Transfer Student Arrival (move-in) is on Tuesday, August 23 2022.
  6. Upperclass Student Arrival (move-in) is from Friday, August 26 2022 to Sunday, August 28 2022.
  7. GWU fall 2022 classes start on Monday, August 29 2022. George Washington University’s first day of classes.
  8. Labor Day holiday (no classes) is Monday, September 5 2022 according to the GWU holiday calendar 2022.
  9. GWU Law students’ last day of Add/Drop is Tuesday, September 6 2022.
  10. Monday, September 19 2022 is the last day for Credit/No Credit Option for law students.
  11. GWU Fall Break 2022 is from Monday, October 24 2022 to Tuesday, October 25 2022.
  12. Thanksgiving break 2022 (no classes) is from Wednesday, November 23 2022 to Saturday, November 26 2022.
  13. The last day of classes for fall 2022 is Monday, December 12 2022.
  14. Reading/Make-Up Day is on Tuesday, December 13 2022 according to GWU fall 2022 schedule.
  15. GWU Final Examinations is from Wednesday, December 14 2022 to Thursday, December 22 2022.
  16. GWU Fall Degree Conferral date is Friday, January 6, 2023.

GWU academic calendar spring 2023

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the GWU academic calendar for spring 2023.

  1. Martin Luther King Day holiday (no classes) is Monday, January 16 2023 according to the GWU holiday calendar 2023.
  2. GWU Spring 2023 classes start on Tuesday, January 17 2023.
  3. Inauguration Day (no classes) is in January 2023.
  4. President’s Day holiday (no classes) is Monday, February 20 2023 according to the GWU holiday calendar 2023.
  5. GWU Spring Break 2023 is from Monday, March 13 2023 to Saturday, March 18 2023.
  6. Make-Up Day is Tuesday, May 2 2023 according to GWU spring 2023 schedule.
  7. The last day of classes for spring 2023 is Monday, May 1 2023.
  8. Designated Monday is Wednesday, May 3 2023.
  9. Reading Day is from Thursday, May 4 2023 to Friday, May 5 2023.
  10. GWU Final Examinations is from Monday, May 8 2023 to Tuesday, May 16 2023.
  11. GWU Commencement Weekend is from Thursday, May 18 2023 to Sunday, May 21 2023.
  12. Spring 2023 Degree Conferral date is Sunday, May 21 2023. It is the date for George Washington University Commencement and Law School Diploma Ceremony.

GWU academic calendar summer 2023

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the GWU academic calendar for the summer of 2023.

  1. GWU Summer Session I (6-, 8-, 10-, and 14-week sessions) start on Monday, May 22 2023.
  2. Summer Session II begins (6-week session) on Monday, May 22 2023.
  3. Memorial Day holiday (no classes) is on Monday, May 29 2023 according to the GWU holiday calendar 2023.
  4. 6-week Session I ends on Saturday, July 1 2023.
  5. Independence Day holiday (no classes) is on Tuesday, July 4 2023 according to the GWU holiday calendar schedule 2023.
  6. 8-week Session I ends on Saturday, July 15 2023
  7. 10-week Session I ends on Saturday, July 29 2023.
  8. 6-week Session II ends on Saturday, August 12 2023.
  9. 14-week Session I ends on Saturday, August 26 2023.
  10. The Summer Degree Conferral date is Thursday, August 31, 2023.
  11. Law Degree Conferral date is Friday, September 1, 2023.

For more on GWU academic calendar 2022-2023, visit the George Washington University academics page.

Previous articleMiami University Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
Next articleMSU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.