CMU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates

1204
CMU academic calendar.

The CMU Academic Calendar serves as Carnegie Mellon University’s information source and planning document for students, faculty, staff, and departments, as well as outside organizations. The calendar includes registration dates, class start dates, add/drop deadlines, exam dates, and more.

Table of Contents

CMU Academic Calendar Fall Semester 2022

These are the key dates and deadlines on the CMU Academic Calendar for Fall in the 2022-2023 academic year.

  1. CMU Move-In Day for Incoming First-Year students is Saturday, August 20, 2022. Due to traffic restrictions, CMU students will be required to sign up for a move-in timeslot through the Housing Portal between 9 am and 3:30 pm.
  2. CMU Upper-Class Move-In day is from Wednesday, August 24, 2022 through Sunday, August 28 2022.
  3. CMU Fall 2022 classes begin on Monday, August 29 2022. Semester & Mini-1 classes begin.
  4. Mini-1 add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline is Friday, September 2 2022.
  5. Labor Day Holiday is Monday, September 5 2022.
  6. Fall Semester add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline is Monday, September 12 2022.
  7. Mini-1 drop deadline is Wednesday, September 21 2022. withdrawal grade is assigned after this date on the CMU academic calendar.
  8. Monday, October 3 2022 is Mini-1 Pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline. Mini-1 Faculty Course Evaluations open on this date.
  9. CMU Fall 2022 Semester drop deadline is Monday, October 10 2022. Withdrawal grade is assigned after this date.
  10. Mini-1 last day of classes is Friday, October 14 2022.
  11. Friday, October 14 2022 is Mini-1 voucher election deadline on the CMU academic calendar 2022-2023.
  12. Family Weekend is Friday, October 14 2022 to Saturday, October 15 2022.
  13. Mini-1 Exams is Saturday, October 15 2022.
  14. CMU Fall Break 2022 is from Monday, October 17 2022 to Friday, October 21 2022.
  15. Mini-2 classes begin on Monday, October 24 2022.
  16. Mid-Semester & Mini-1 grades are due on Monday, October 24 2022 by 4 pm according to the CMU academic calendar 2022-2023.
  17. Friday, October 28 2022 is Tartan Community Day Holiday. There are no classes on this day.
  18. CMU Homecoming 2022 is on Saturday, October 29 2022.
  19. Mini-2 add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline is Monday, October 31 2022.
  20. Monday, November 14 2022 is Fall Semester pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline.
  21. Mini-2 drop deadline is Wednesday, November 16 2022. Withdrawal grade is assigned after this date.
  22. Thanksgiving Holiday is from Wednesday, November 23 2022 to Friday, November 25 2022.
  23. Mini-2 pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline is Monday, November 28 2022.
  24. Semester & Mini-2 Faculty Course Evaluations open on Monday, November 28 2022.
  25. Friday, December 9 2022 is Fall Semester & Mini-2 last day of classes.
  26. Semester & Mini-2 voucher deadline is Friday, December 9 2022.
  27. Fall final exams period is Monday, December 12 2022 to Tuesday, December 13 2022, Thursday, December 15 2022 to Friday, December 16 2022, and Sunday, December 18 2022.
  28. Reading Days are Wednesday, December 14 2022, and Saturday, December 17 2022 on the CMU academic calendar.
  29. Makeup final exams is on Monday, December 19 2022.
  30. Semester & Mini-2 Faculty Course Evaluations close on Monday, December 19 2022.
  31. Final Grades are due by 4 pm on Wednesday, December 21 2022 on the CMU academic calendar 2022-2023.
  32. Winter break is from Friday, December 23 2022 to Monday, January 2 2023.

CMU Academic Calendar Spring 2023

These are the key dates and deadlines on the CMU Academic Calendar for Spring 2023.

  1. Spring 2023 Registration Week is from Monday, November 14 2022 to Friday, November 18 2022.
  2. Martin Luther King JR. Day Holiday is Monday, January 16 2023.
  3. CMU Spring Semester classes begin on Tuesday, January 17, 2023.
  4. Mini-3 add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline is Monday, January 23 2023. Check out CMU SIO login portal.
  5. Semester add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline is Monday, January 30 2023.
  6. Mini-3 course drop deadline is Wednesday, February 8 2023. Withdrawal grade assigned after this date.
  7. Monday, February 20 2023 is Mini-3 pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline.
  8. Mini-3 Faculty Course Evaluations open on Monday, February 20 2023.
  9. Monday, February 27 2023 is Spring 2023 semester course drop deadline. Withdrawal grade assigned after this date.
  10. Mini-3 Last Day of Classes is Friday, March 3 2023.
  11. Mini-3 Drop Voucher Election deadline is March 3 2023 by 11:59 pm.
  12. Mini-3 Exam Day is Saturday, March 4 2023.
  13. Mini-3 Faculty Course Evaluations close on Saturday, March 4 2023.
  14. CMU Spring Break 2023 is from Monday, March 6 2023 to Friday, March 10 2023.
  15. Mini-3 Final Grades are due by 4 pm on Monday, March 13 2023.
  16. Mini-4 classes begin on Monday, March 13, 2023.
  17. Friday, March 17 2023 is Mini-4 add, audit & tuition adjustment drop deadline.
  18. Semester pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline is Monday, April 3 2023.
  19. Mini-4 course drop deadline is Wednesday, April 5 2023. Withdrawal grade assigned after this date.
  20. CMU Spring Carnival 2023 is from Thursday, April 13 2023 to Saturday, April 15 2023. No Classes on this day according to the CMU academic calendar. The Carnegie Mellon’s Spring Carnival is three days of amusement park rides, adventures in booths, unhealthy snacks, and buggy races. 
  21. Monday, April 17 2023 is Mini-4 pass/no pass & withdrawal deadline.
  22. Spring 2023 Semester & Mini-4 Faculty Course Evaluations open on Monday, April 17 2023.
  23. The last day of classes for Spring 2023 semester is Friday, April 28 2023.
  24. Friday, April 28 2023 is Semester & Mini-4 voucher deadline.
  25. CMU’s final examinations period is Monday, May 1 2023 to Tuesday, May 2 2023, Thursday, May 5 2023 to Friday, May 6 2023 and Monday, May 8 2023 acording to the CMU academic calendar.
  26. Reading Days are Wednesday, May 3 2023 and Saturday, May 6, 2023 to Friday, May 7 2023.
  27. Semester & Mini-4 Faculty Course Evaluations close on Monday, May 8 2023.
  28. Makeup Final Examinations is Tuesday, May 9 2023.
  29. Final grades are due on Thursday, May 10 2023, by 4 pm for graduating students.
  30. Commencement is on Sunday, May 14, 2023.
  31. Final Grades are due on Tuesday, May 16 2023 by 4 pm.

CMU academic calendar summer 2022

Let’s look at the important dates and deadlines in the CMU academic calendar 2022 for Summer Session all, Summer Session one and Summer Session two.

Summer Session All 2022

These are the key dates and deadlines on the CMU Academic Calendar for Summer 2022.

  1. Summer 2022 Registration Begins on Wednesday, March 23 2022.
  2. Session All & Mini-5 Classes Begin on Monday, May 16 2022.
  3. Mini-5 Course Add Deadline is Friday, May 20 2022. The same day is Mini-5 Course Audit Grade Option Deadline and also Course Drop Deadline to Receive Tuition Adjustment.
  4. Friday, May 27 2022 is;
    • Session All Course Add Deadline.
    • Session All Course Audit Grade Option Deadline.
    • Session All Course Drop Deadline to Receive Tuition Adjustment.
  5. Monday, May 30 2022 is Memorial Day; No Classes.
  6. Session All Course Drop Deadline is Tuesday, May 31 2022; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  7. Wednesday, June 8 2022 is Mini-5 Course Drop Deadline; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  8. Monday, June 20 2022 is Juneteenth Observed; No Classes.
  9. Tuesday, June 21 is Mini-5 Course Withdrawal Grade Deadline; No Course Withdrawal after this date.
  10. Tuesday, June 21 2022 is Mini-5 Pass/No Pass Grade Deadline; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  11. Mini-5 Course Evaluations is Tuesday, June 21 – Monday, June 27 2022 on the CMU academic calendar.
  12. Mini-5 Drop Voucher Election Deadline is Friday, June 24 2022 by 11:59 pm.
  13. Friday, June 24 is Mini-5 Last Day of Classes.
  14. Monday, June 27 2022 is Mini-5 Final Examinations.
  15. Monday, June 27 – Friday, July 1 2022 is Summer Break; No Classes.
  16. June 30 Th Mini-5 Final Grades are Due on June 30 2022 by 4 pm.
  17. Monday, July 4 2022 is Independence Day; No Classes.
  18. Mini-6 Classes begin on Tuesday, July 5 2022.
  19. Monday, July 11 2022 is 
    • Mini-6 Course Add Deadline.
    • Mini-6 Course Audit Grade Option Deadline.
    • Mini-6 Course Drop Deadline to Receive Tuition Adjustment.
  20. Wednesday, July 27 2022 is Mini-6 Course Drop Deadline; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  21. Monday, August 8 2022 is; 
    • Session All Course Withdrawal Grade Deadline; No Course Withdrawal after this date.
    • Session All Pass/No Pass Grade Deadline.
    • Mini-6 Course Withdrawal Grade Deadline; No Course Withdrawal after this date.
    • Mini-6 Pass/No Pass Grade Deadline.
  22. Monday, August 8 – Friday, August 12 is Session All & Mini-6 Faculty Course Evaluations period on the CMU academic calendar.
  23. Thursday, August 11 2022 is Session All & Mini-6 Last Day of Classes.
  24. Semester & Mini-6 Drop Voucher Election Deadline is August 11 2022 by 11:59 pm.
  25. Session All & Mini-6 Final Exams is Friday, August 12 2022.
  26. Session All & Mini-6 Final Exam Makeups is August 15 2022.
  27. Session All & Mini-6 Final Grades are Due on August 15 by 4 pm.

Summer Session One 2022

  1. Session One Classes begin on Monday, May 16 2022.
  2. Session One Course Add Deadline Friday, May 20 2022. The same day is Session One Course Audit Grade Option Deadline and Session One Course Drop Deadline to Receive Tuition Adjustment.
  3. Monday, May 30 is Memorial Day.
  4. Wednesday, June 8 2022 is Session One Course Drop Deadline; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  5. Monday, June 20 2022 is Juneteenth celebrated; No Classes.
  6. Session One Course Withdrawal Grade Deadline is Tuesday, June 21 2022; No Course Withdrawal after this date.
  7. Session One Pass/No Pass Grade Deadline Tuesday, June 21 2022.
  8. Monday, June 21 – Friday, June 27 2022 is Session One Faculty Course Evaluations period.
  9. June 24 F Session One Last Day of Classes is Friday, June 24 2022. It is also Session One Drop Voucher Election Deadline by 11:59 pm.
  10. Monday, June 27 2022 is Session One Final Examinations.
  11. Session One Final Grades are Due Thursday, June 30 2022 by 4 pm.

Summer Session Two 2022

  1. Monday, July 4 2022 is Independence Day; No Classes
  2. July 5 T Session Two Classes begin on Tuesday, July 5 2022.
  3. Monday, July 11 2022 is 
  4. Session Two Course Add Deadline.
  5. July 11 M Session Two Course Audit Grade Option Deadline.
  6. July 11 M Session Two Course Drop Deadline to Receive Tuition Adjustment.
  7. Wednesday, July 27 2022 is Session Two Course Drop Deadline; Assign Withdrawal Grade after this date.
  8. Monday, August 8 2022 is Session Two Course Withdrawal Grade Deadline; No Course Wtihdrawal after this date. It is also Session Two Pass/No Pass Grade Deadline.
  9. Monday, August 8 – Friday, August 12 is Session Two Faculty Course Evaluations period.
  10. Session Two Last Day of Classes is Thursday, August 11 2022. Session Two Drop Voucher Election Deadline by 11:59 pm.
  11. Friday, August 12 2022 is Session Two Final Exams.
  12. Session All & Mini-6 Final Exam Makeups.
  13. Session Two Final Grades are due on Thursday, August 18, by 4 pm.

For more on CMU academic calendar, visit the Carnegie Mellon University calendar website. Students taking courses in Heinz College and Tepper School of Business (MBA and Computational Finance programs) must review and follow separate academic calendars; Similarly, students taking doctoral courses must review and follow the doctoral calendar for those courses.

Previous articleJMU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates and Deadlines
Next articleEmory Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.