Duke Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates

607
Duke academic calendar important dates.

Duke academic calendar has the drop/add dates, registration dates, holidays, important dates, and deadlines. Duke University is on a semester system and uses a credit system. Most courses are 1.0 credits, and the average course load is four courses (credits) each semester. A 1.0-credit course at Duke is similar to a three- or four-hour course at another university.

Here are the important dates and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Fall, Spring, and Summer. 

This academic calendar is for Trinity College of Arts & Sciences, the Pratt School of Engineering, the Nicholas School of the Environment, the Graduate School, the Sanford School of Public Policy, and the School of Nursing.

Duke academic calendar fall 2022

Here are the important dates, schedules, and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Fall 2022.

  1. Duke move-in day fall 2022 is on Saturday, August 20 2022, for new students. Duke undergraduate students’ move-in day is Friday, August 26 2022.
  2. Duke University New undergraduate student orientation begins on Saturday, August 20 2022.
  3. New Graduate student orientation begins on Tuesday, August 23 2022.
  4. Convocation for new graduate and professional school students is on Wednesday, August 24 2022 at 4:00 pm.
  5. Duke University Convocation for new undergraduate students is on Sunday, August 28 2022 at 3:00 pm. 
  6. Duke Fall 2022 semester classes start on Monday, August 29 2022 at 8:30 am. 
  7. Drop/Add continues on Monday, August 29 2022.
  8. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 5 2022. Classes will be in session for Duke University students.
  9. Drop/Add ends on Friday, September 9 2022.
  10. Founders’ Weekend is Thursday, September 29 – Sunday, October 2 2022 according to Duke academic calendar 2022-2023.
  11. Friday, October 7 2022 is the last day for reporting midsemester grades.
  12. Duke Fall break 2022 begins on Friday, October 7 2022 at 7:00 pm and ends on Tuesday, October 11 2022. 
  13. Classes resume after Fall break on Wednesday, October 12 2022 at 8:30 am.
  14. Friday, November 11 2022 is the last day to withdraw with W from Fall 2022 classes (undergraduates only).
  15. Duke Thanksgiving break 2022 begins from 10:30 pm on Tuesday, November 22 2022, to Sunday, November 27 2022. 
  16. Classes resume after Thanksgiving break on Monday, November 28 2022 at 8:30 am.
  17. Duke University Graduate classes end on Friday, December 2 2022.
  18. The graduate reading period is from Saturday, December 3 2022, to Wednesday, December 13 2022 according to Duke academic calendar 2022-2023.
  19. Duke University Undergraduate classes end on Friday, December 9 2022.
  20. The undergraduate reading period is from Saturday, December 10 2022 to Tuesday, December 13 2022.
  21. Duke Final examinations begin at 9:00 am on Wednesday, December 14 2022, and end on Monday, December 19 2022 at 10:00 pm.
  22. Fall 2022 move-out date is Tuesday, December 20 2022 for Winter Break.
  23. Duke Winter break 2022 begins on Tuesday, December 20 2022 to Saturday, January 7 2023.

Duke academic calendar spring 2023

Here are the important dates, schedules, and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Spring 2023.

  1. Shopping carts open for Spring 2023 on Monday, October 24 2022.
  2. Registration begins for Spring 2023 on Wednesday, November 2 2022 to Monday, November 14 2022.
  3. Drop/Add begins for Spring 2023 on Tuesday, November 15 2022.
  4. Duke Spring 2023 move-in day (residence halls open) is Sunday, January 8, 202
  5. Spring 2023 semester classes start on Wednesday, January 11 2023 at 8:30 am. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day. Spring 2023 Drop/Add continues on Wednesday, January 11 2023.
  6. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, January 12 2023 according to Duke academic calendar 2022-2023. 
  7. Classes meet in a Wednesday/Friday meeting pattern begin on Friday, January 13 2023. 
  8. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday is Monday, January 16 2023. No classes are held.
  9. Duke Spring 2023 semester Drop/Add ends on Wednesday, January 25 2022.
  10. Friday, February 24 2023 is the last day for reporting midsemester grades.
  11. Duke Spring break 2023 begins on Friday, March 10 2023 at 7:00 pm to Sunday, March 19 2023. 
  12. Classes resume after Spring break on Monday, March 20 2023 at 8:30 am.
  13. Wednesday, March 29 2023 is the last day to withdraw with W from Spring 2023 classes (undergraduates only).
  14. Graduate classes end on Wednesday, April 19 2023.
  15. Graduate reading period is Thursday, April 20 2023 – Sunday, April 30 2023 according to Duke academic calendar 2022-2023.
  16. Undergraduate classes end on Wednesday, April 26 2023.
  17. Undergraduate reading period is Thursday, April 30 2023 – Sunday, April 27 2023.
  18. Final examinations begin at 9:00 am from Monday, May 1 2023 to Saturday, May 6 2023 at 10:00 pm.
  19. Commencement begins on Friday, May 12 2023.
  20. Duke University Graduation exercises; degrees are conferred on Sunday, May 14 2023.
  21. Spring move-out is Monday, May 8 2023 by noon for undergraduates.
  22. Final spring move-out is Monday, May 15 2023 by noon.

Duke academic calendar summer 2023

Here are the important dates, schedules, and deadlines on the Duke academic calendar for Summer 2023.

  1. Shopping carts open for Fall 2023 on Monday, March 27 2023.
  2. Registration begins for all Summer sessions on Monday, February 20 2023.
  3. Registration begins for Fall 2023; Summer 2023 registration continues on Wednesday, April 5 2023.
  4. Registration ends for Fall 2023; Summer 2023 registration continues on Thursday, April 13 2023.
  5. Drop/Add begins for Fall 2023 on Friday, April 14 2023.
  6. Summer Term I housing move-in is Tuesday, May 16, 2023.
  7. Duke Summer Term 1 class begin on Wednesday, May 17 2023. The Monday class meeting schedule is in effect on this day (Therefore, all summer classes meet on this day). 
  8. Drop/Add continues on Wednesday, May 17 2023.
  9. Regular class meeting schedule begins on Thursday, May 18 2023.
  10. Drop/Add for Term 1 ends on Friday, May 19 2023.
  11. Memorial Day holiday is Monday, May 29 2023. No classes are held.
  12. Wednesday, June 14 2023 is the last day to withdraw with W from Term 1 classes (undergraduates only).
  13. Juneteenth holiday is Monday, June 19 2023. No classes are held.
  14. Term 1 classes end on Monday, June 26 2023.
  15. Reading period is Tuesday, June 27 2023.
  16. Term 1 final examinations begin on Wednesday, June 28 2023 to Thursday, June 29 2023.
  17. Summer Term I housing move-out is Friday, June 30 by 12 pm (noon).
  18. Summer Term II housing move-in is Sunday, July 2, 2023.
  19. Summer Term 2 classes begin on Monday, July 3 2023.
  20. Independence Day holiday observed is Tuesday, July 4 2023 on the Duke academic calendar 2022-2023. No classes are held.
  21. Drop/Add for Term 2 ends on Thursday, July 6 2023.
  22. Monday, July 31 2023 is the last day to withdraw with W from Term 2 classes (undergraduates only).
  23. Term 2 classes end on Thursday, August 10 2023.
  24. Reading period is Friday, August 11 2023 until 7:00 pm.
  25. Term 2 final examinations begin on Friday, August 11 2023 at 7:00 am to Sunday, August 13 2023 at 10 pm.
  26. Summer Term II housing move-out is Monday, August 14 by 12 pm (noon).

Visit the Duke University registrar page for more on Duke academic calendar. Law students can find the Duke Law academic calendar 2022-2023 on the Duke Law Calendar website.

Previous articleUConn Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
Next articleUA Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates and Deadlines
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.