NYC DOE Calendar 2022-23: Important Academic Dates

268
NYC DOE Calendar.

The first day of school on the NYC DOE calendar 2022–23 is Thursday, September 8, 2022. The last day of school is Tuesday, June 27, 2023. The New York City Department of Education (DOE) school year calendar establishes the days that 3K–12 schools are in session.

There are 180 days in the NYC DOE calendar for the 2022-2023 academic year. This is compliant with the New York State Education Law EDN§3604 requiring a minimum session of 180 days.

The Scheduled student attendance days are 177 days of which 177 are “aidable” student attendance days during the September–June school year.

The summer school calendar (July and August) is not part of the regular school year and only applies to students and staff participating in summer school. Dates with a “–” on the calendar are non-attendance days for students.

Important dates on the NYC school calendar

Check out the important dates on the NYC DOE calendar for 2022-2023 academic calendar.

September 2022

  • NYC DOE’s first day of school for the 2022-2023 academic year is Thursday, September 8, 2022, according to the NYC School calendar.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers are on Thursday, September 15, 2022.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and District 75 schools are on Thursday, September 22, 2022.
  • Schools are closed for Rosh Hashanah on Monday, September 26, 2022 and Tuesday, September 27, 2022. 

October 2022

  • Schools are closed for Yom Kippur on Wednesday, October 5, 2022.
  • Schools are closed for Italian Heritage Day/Indigenous Peoples’ Day on Monday, October 10, 2022.

November 2022

  • Afternoon and evening Parent-Teacher Conferences for elementary schools are on Thursday, November 3, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.
  • NYC DOE School buildings are closed for Election Day on Tuesday, November 8, 2023; it is a fully remote instructional day for all students.
  • Afternoon and evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and District 75 schools are on Wednesday, November 9, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.
  • Schools are closed for the Veterans Day holiday on Friday, November 11, 2022, according to the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools are on Thursday, November 17, 2022.
  • Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools are on Friday, November 18, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.
  • Schools are closed for Thanksgiving break from Thursday, November 24 to Friday, November 25, 2022.

December 2022

  • NYC DOE Winter break 2022 is from Monday, December 24, 2022 to Monday, January 2, 2023.

January 2023

  • NYC DOE Classes resume after winter recess on Tuesday, January 3, 2023. Students return to school in 2023 according to the NYC school calendar.
  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day holiday is Monday, January 16, 2023. NYC DOE Schools are closed.
  • Regents exams are administered from Tuesday, January 24 to Friday, January 27, 2023.
  • Monday, January 30, 2023 is the Professional development day for high schools (9–12) and 6–12 schools; students in these schools do not attend.
  • The spring 2023 semester starts on Tuesday, January 31, 2023. This is according to the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23.

February 2023

  • Midwinter break 2023 is from Monday, February 20 to Friday, February 24, 2023. The Midwinter recess includes President’s Day holiday.
  • Classes resume on Monday, February 27, 2023 after mid-winter recess. 

March 2023

  • Afternoon and evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers are on Thursday, March 9, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.
  • Afternoon and evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and D75 schools are on Thursday, March 16, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools are on Thursday, March 23, 2023.
  • Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools are on Friday, March 24, 2023; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early.

April 2023

  • The Second Day of the Passover/Good Friday holiday is on Friday, April 7, 2023. schools are closed.
  • NYC DOE Spring break 2023 is from Monday, April 10, 2023 to Friday, April 14, 2023. Schools are closed during the Spring recess.
  • Classes resume after spring recess on Monday, April 17, 2023.
  • Schools closed for Eid Al-Fitr on Friday, April 21, 2023, according to the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23.

May 2023

  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and Pre-K Centers are on Thursday, May 4, 2023.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and D75 schools are on Thursday, May 11, 2023.
  • Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools are on Thursday, May 18, 2023.
  • Schools are closed for the Memorial Day holiday on Monday, May 29, 2023, according to the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23.

June 2023

  • The Anniversary Day, Chancellor’s Conference Day for staff development is Thursday, June 8, 2023. Students do not attend.
  • Friday, June 9, 2023 is the Clerical Day for elementary schools, middle schools, K–12 schools, and standalone D75 programs; students in these schools do not attend.
  • Regents exam administration (excluding June 19 when schools are closed) is from Wednesday, June 14 to Friday, June 23, 2023.
  • Schools are closed for the Juneteenth holiday on Monday, June 19, 2023.
  • The last day of classes for the 2022-2023 academic year is Tuesday, June 27, 2023. It is also the last day of school for school aides, family workers, classroom teachers, bilingual teachers in school and community relations, attendance teachers, nurses, therapists, laboratory specialists, paraprofessionals, and technicians.
  • Eid al-Adha is on Wednesday, June 28, 2023, schools are closed, no staff reports, according to the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23.
  • Friday, June 30, 2023 is the last day of school for school-based school secretaries, guidance counselors, school psychologists, social workers, assistant principals, and school-based intermediate supervisors working on a ten-month schedule.

NYC DOE Parent Teacher Conference dates 2022-2023

Parent-Teacher conferences are meetings between students’ parents and teachers, to discuss the child’s progress academically, socially, and concerning expected classroom behavior.

Below are the dates for the NYC Parent-teacher conferences on the NYC DOE Calendar 2022-2023.

3K-5/3K-8/Pre-K CentersMiddle Schools/All District 75High Schools/K-12/6-12
Thursday, September 15, 2022Thursday, September 22, 2022Thursday, September 29, 2022
Thursday, November 3, 2022Wednesday, November 9, 2022Thursday, November 17, 2022 (Evening)
Friday, November 18, 2022 (Afternoon).
Thursday, March 9, 2023Thursday, March 16, 2023Thursday, March 23, 2023 (Evening)
Friday, March 24, 2023 (Afternoon).
Thursday, May 4, 2023Thursday, May 11, 2023Thursday, May 18, 2023.
NYC DOE Parent Teacher Conference dates 2022-2023

NYC DOE calendar 2022-23 PDF

View below the NYC DOE calendar PDF for the 2022-2023 academic year.

For more on the NYC DOE calendar 2022-23, visit the New York City Department of Education calendar website.

Previous articlePGCPS Calendar 2022-23: Important Academic Dates
Next articleCCSD Calendar 22-23: Important Academic Dates for Students
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.