JMU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates and Deadlines

1316
JMU Academic Calendar.

James Madison University, JMU academic calendar shows registration dates, add/drop dates, withdrawal deadlines, holidays, exam dates, and other important dates and deadlines.

Table of Contents

JMU Academic Calendar Fall Semester 2022

Below are other important dates on JMU academic calendar for Fall 2022.

  1. Registration begins for 2022 fall semester on Monday, April 11 2022.
  2. JMU Move-In Day 2022 for freshmen is on Friday, 19 August 19 2022 at 12:00 AM, and Saturday, August 20 2022 at 12:00 AM.
  3. JMU Transfer Students’ move-in day is on Sunday, August 21 2022 between 8 a.m. and noon.
  4. JMU Upperclass Students’ move-in day is from Sunday, August 21, 2022 to Tuesday, August 23 2022. Monday and Tuesday will have limited move-in hours on the JMU academic calendar.
  5. JMU Fall classes begin on Wednesday, August 24 2022.
  6. Tuesday, September 13, 2022 is the last day to withdraw from the university with the cancellation of tuition charges and refund.
  7. Family Weekend 2022 is from Friday, September 30 2022 to Sunday, October 2 2022.
  8. First Block courses end on Tuesday, October 11 2022.
  9. Second Block courses begin on Thursday, October 13 2022. It is the last day to submit an application for a Masters, Ed.S., or Doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in May or August 2023.
  10. Mid-semester grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on Tuesday, October 18 2022. First Block course grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on the same day according to the JMU academic calendar.
  11. JMU Fall Break 2022 is From Wednesday, October 12 2022 to Friday, October 14 2022.
  12. Homecoming 2022 is from Friday, October 21 2022 to Sunday, October 23 2022.
  13. Thanksgiving holiday begins on Wednesday, November 19 2022.
  14. Classes resume on Monday, November 28 2022.
  15. Friday, December 9, 2022 is the last day of classes.
  16. Final examination period is Saturday, December 10 – Friday, December 16 2022.
  17. Friday, December 16, 2022 is the deadline for completion of course work for December graduates.
  18. Saturday, December 17, 2022 is December Commencement Ceremony.
  19. Regular Semester and Second Block course grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on Monday, December 19 2022 by 3 p.m.

JMU Winter Session 2023

Below are other important dates on the JMU academic calendar for the winter session of 2023. Optional Session for Students and Faculty.

  1. Winter session 1 (one-week) and Winter Session 2 (two-week) classes meet as scheduled on Monday, January 2, 2023.
  2. Winter Session 1 Final examinations is on Friday, January 6, 2023.
  3. Winter session 3 (one-week) classes meet as scheduled on Monday, January 9, 2023.
  4. Winter Session 1 Grades are Due on Tuesday, January 10, 2023.
  5. Winter Session 2 and 3 Final Examinations is on Friday, January 13, 2023.
  6. Winter Session 2 and 3 Grades are Due on Tuesday, January 17, 2023.

JMU academic calendar Spring Semester 2023

Below are other important dates on the JMU academic calendar for the Spring term of 2023.

  1. Registration begins for the 2023 spring semester on Monday, November 7, 2022.
  2. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday is on Monday, January 16, 2023.
  3. JMU Spring 2023 Classes start on Tuesday, January 17, 2023.
  4. Tuesday, February 7, 2023, is the last day to withdraw from the university with the cancellation of tuition charges and refund. Student Assessment/Faculty Assistance (no classes 8 a.m.- 4 p.m.) Evening classes (those beginning at 4 p.m. or later) meet as scheduled.
  5. First Block courses end Tuesday, March 7 2023.
  6. Mid-semester grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on Friday, March 10, 2023.
  7. JMU Spring break 2023 is from Monday, March 13 2023 to Friday, March 17, 2023.
  8. Classes resume on Monday, March 20, 2022.
  9. Second Block courses begin on Monday, March 20 2023.
  10. First Block course grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on Tuesday, March 21, 2023.
  11. Wednesday, April 12, 2023 is the last day to submit an application for a Masters’s, Ed.S. or Doctoral degree if graduation requirements are to be met in December 2023. Comprehensive assessment results and scholarly documents are due to The Graduate School for May 2023 graduation candidates.
  12. Thursday, May 4, 2023 is the last day of classes for Spring semester 2023.
  13. Final examination period is from Friday, May 5 2023 to Thursday, May 11 2023.
  14. Thursday, May 11 2023 is the deadline for completion of course work for May graduates.
  15. Commencement Ceremonies is from Thursday, May 11 2023 to Saturday, May 13 2023.
  16. Regular Semester and Second Block course grades are due in the Office of the Registrar on Tuesday, May 16 2023 by 3 p.m.

JMU academic calendar Summer Session 2022

Below are other important dates on JMU academic calendar for Summer term of 2022.

  1. Advance registration for 2022 summer session begins on Monday, March 28 2022.
  2. First day of one-week summer session is Monday, May 16 2022.
  3. Final Exam for one-week one session is on Friday, May 20 2022.
  4. Monday, May 23 2022 is the First day of twelve-week, ten-week, eight-week, six-week(one), four-week(one), and two-week(one) sessions.
  5. Monday, May 30 is Memorial Day Holiday.
  6. Monday, June 6 2022 is the First day of two-week(two) session.
  7. Final exam for four-week(one) and two-week(two) session is Friday, June 17 2022.
  8. Monday, June 20 2022 is Juneteenth.
  9. Tuesday, June 21 2022 is the First day of eight-week(two) and four-week(two) session.
  10. Final exam for six-week(one) session is on Friday, July 1 2022.
  11. There are no classes on Monday, Fourth of July 2022.
  12. Tuesday, July 5, 2022 is the First day of six-week(two) session.
  13. Wednesday, July 13 2022 – Comprehensive Assessment Results & Scholarly Document Submissions Due for August 2022 Graduation Candidates.
  14. Final exam for eight-week(one)and four-week(two) is on Friday, July 15 2022.
  15. Final exam for ten-week session is on Friday, July 29 2022.
  16. Friday, August 12, 2022 is the Deadline for completion of course work for summer graduates.
  17. Final exam for six-week(two), eight-week(two), and twelve-week session is on Friday, August 12, 2022.
  18. Monday, August 15, 202 is the first day of CLN session.
  19. Tuesday, August 23, 2022 is the last day of CLN summer session and CLN final exam.

For more on JMU academic calendar, visit the JMU Registrar website.

Previous articleCSUF Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates and Deadlines
Next articleCMU Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.