MIT Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates and Deadlines

1247
MIT academic calendar important dates.

Check out the key dates and deadlines in the MIT Academic Calendar 2022-2023. It has fall break dates, spring break dates, registration dates, add/drop deadlines, the first day of classes, etc.

MIT operates on a 4–1–4 academic calendar with the fall semester beginning after Labor Day and ending in mid-December, a 4-week “Independent Activities Period” in the month of January, and the spring semester commencing in early February and ceasing in late May.

MIT academic calendar fall 2022

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the MIT academic calendar for fall 2022.

  1. Thursday, June 16 2022 is Fall 2022 pre-registration deadline. Continuing students must initiate online pre-registration by this date ($85 late fee after August 25). It is also the deadline for continuing students to select preferences for fall CI-H/HW subjects.
  2. Friday, July 15 2022 is the deadline for doctoral students to submit applications, signed by advisor and department, to the Office of Graduate Education, for fall term non-resident status on the MIT academic calendar.
  3. Fall 2022 Housing Waitlist offers begin on Monday, August 8 2022.
  4. Incoming First-Year International Student Move-in days are Friday, August 19, 2022, and Saturday, August 20 2022.
  5. First-Year Pre-Orientation Program (FPOP) Participant Move-in day is Tuesday, August 23 2022.
  6. Continuing student final deadline to pre-register ($85 late fee after this date) is Thursday, August 25 2022 at 5 p.m.
  7. MIT Incoming First-Year Student Move-in day (by Sunday at 12:00 pm) is Saturday, August 27 2022 to Sunday, August 28 2022.
  8. First-year student orientation begins on Sunday, August 28 2022. Graduate student orientation activities also begin on this day.
  9. Registration opens for all students on Monday, August 29 2022 according to the MIT academic calendar.
  10. Undergraduate registration opens for first quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes, on Friday, September 3 2022 at 8 AM.
  11. Campus Housing Move-in day for Sophomores, Juniors & Seniors is Saturday, September 3 2022.
  12. Labor Day holiday is Monday, September 5 2022.
  13. Tuesday, September 6 2022 is MIT Registration Day for fall term 2022.
  14. Graduate registration opens for first quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes, on Tuesday, September 6 2022 at 8 AM.
  15. MIT fall classes begin on Wednesday, September 7 2022.
  16. Friday, September 9 2022 is Fall registration deadline. Registration for all students must be submitted by this date. $50 late fee will be applied after this date.
  17. The deadline for second-term juniors to submit the HASS Concentration Proposal Form is Friday, September 9 2022. $50 late fee after this date according to the MIT academic calendar 2022-2023.
  18. Friday, September 9 2022 is the deadline for final-term seniors to submit the HASS Concentration Completion Form. $50 late fee after this date.
  19. First-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes begin on Monday, September 12 2022.
  20. Friday, September 16 2022 is the last day to add half-term subjects offered in first half of term (H1).
  21. Friday, September 16 2022 is the last day for seniors and graduate students to change H1 subjects to or from P/D/F grading.
  22. The last day to change H1 subjects from listener to credit is Friday, September 16 2022.
  23. MIT Career Week begins on Monday, September 19 2022 to Friday, September 23 2022.
  24. Friday, September 23 2022 is MIT Student holiday.
  25. Minor completion date is Friday, September 23 2022. It is the deadline for submission of Minor Completion Form for final-term seniors. $50 late fee after this date according to the MIT academic calendar.
  26. Undergraduate registration opens for second-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes on Wednesday, October 5 2022 at 8 AM.
  27. Add Date is Friday, October 7 2022. It is the last day to add full-term subjects to registration.
  28. Friday, October 7 2022 is the last day for seniors and graduate students to change a full-term elective to or from P/D/F grading.
  29. The last day to change a full-term subject from listener to credit is Friday, October 7 2022 on the MIT academic calendar.
  30. The last day to drop half-term subjects offered in first half of term (H1) is Friday, October 7 2022.
  31. Friday, October 7 2022 is the last day to change an H1 subject from credit to listener on the MIT academic calendar.
  32. Late fee ($100) and petition is required for students completing registration after Friday, October 7 2022.
  33. Friday, October 7 2022 is the last day for May and September 2023 degree candidates to apply for double major.
  34. The deadline for completing cross-registration is Friday, October 7 2022. $50 late fee for petitions received after this date.
  35. Indigenous Peoples’ Day holiday is Monday, October 10 2022.
  36. According to the MIT academic calendar, Tuesday, October 11 2022 is MIT Student holiday.
  37. Graduate registration opens for second quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes on Wednesday, October 12 2022 at 8 AM.
  38. Half-term subjects final exam period (H1) is from Monday, October 17 2022 to Friday, October 21 2022.
  39. Friday, October 21 2022 is the last day of classes for half-term subjects offered in the first half of term (H1).
  40. Monday, October 24 2022 is the first day of classes for half-term subjects offered in the second half of term (H2).
  41. Second-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes begin on Monday, October 31 2022 according to the MIT academic calendar.
  42. Friday, November 4 2022 is the last day to add half-term subjects offered in second half of term (H2).
  43. Friday, November 4 2022 is the last day for seniors and graduate students to change H2 subjects to or from P/D/F grading.
  44. The last day to change H2 subjects from listener to credit is Friday, November 4 2022.
  45. Veterans Day holiday is Friday, November 11 2022.
  46. Drop Date is Wednesday, November 23 2022. It is the last day to cancel full-term subjects from registration.
  47. Wednesday, November 23 2022 is the last day to change a full-term subject from credit to listener.
  48. Wednesday, November 23 2022 is the last day to add a time-arranged subject that started after beginning of the term.
  49. The last day to petition for December Advanced Standing Exam (given during final exam period) is Wednesday, November 23 2022.
  50. Thanksgiving holiday is Thursday, November 24 2022.
  51. Friday, November 25 2022 is Institute holiday.
  52. Wednesday, November 30 2022 is the last day to drop half-term subjects offered in second half of term (H2).
  53. The last day to change an H2 subject from credit to listener is Wednesday, November 30 2022.
  54. Subjects with final exam is on Friday, December 9 2022 according to the MIT academic calendar.
  55. Subjects with no final exam is on Friday, December 9 2022 for Undergraduate subjects.
  56. Wednesday, December 14 2022 is the last day of classes for fall 2022.
  57. MIT fall 2022 final exam period is from Friday, December 16 2022 to Thursday, December 22 2022.
  58. Grade deadline is Wednesday, January 11 2023. Grades are due for subjects with final exams.
  59. Term summaries of fall term grades are available to departments on Thursday, January 12 2023.

MIT academic calendar spring 2023

Check out the important dates and deadlines on the MIT academic calendar for Spring 2023.

  1. Tuesday, November 15 2022 is the deadline for doctoral students to submit application, signed by advisor and department, to the Office of Graduate Education, for spring term non-resident status. Not needed if spring term approved with fall term application.
  2. Pre-registration for spring term 2023 and IAP begins on Thursday, December 1 2022.
  3. Spring 2023 pre-registration deadline is Monday, January 9 2023. Continuing students must initiate pre-registration by 5 PM on this date ($85 late fee after January 19).
  4. Monday, January 9 2023 is the first day of January Independent Activities Period.
  5. IAP Physical Education & Wellness classes begin on Monday, January 9 2023.
  6. IAP pre-registration deadline is Monday, January 9 2023. 5PM deadline for all students to pre-register for IAP according to the MIT academic calendar.
  7. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday is Monday, January 16 2023.
  8. Thursday, January 19 2023, at 5 p.m is the final deadline for continuing students to pre-register for spring 2023. $85 late fee after this date. It is also the deadline for continuing students to select preferences for spring CI-H/CI-HW subjects.
  9. Registration Week begins for Spring term 2023 on Monday, January 30 2023.
  10. Registration Week ends for Spring term 2023 on Friday, February 3 2023. Undergraduate registration opens for third-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes, at 8 AM according to the MIT academic calendar.
  11. Friday, February 3 2023 is the last day of January Independent Activities Period.
  12. MIT’s Spring classes begin on Monday, February 6, 2023.
  13. On Tuesday, February 1 2023, graduate registration opens for third-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes at 8 AM.
  14. Spring Registration deadline is Friday, February 10 2023. Registration for all students must be submitted by this date. $50 late fee after this date.
  15. Degree application deadline for May SB and advanced degrees is Friday, February 10 2023. $50 late fee after this date ($85 late fee after April 1).
  16. Friday, February 10 2023 is the deadline for second-term juniors to submit the HASS Concentration Proposal Form. $50 late fee after this date.
  17. Deadline for final-term seniors to submit the HASS Concentration Completion Form is Friday, February 10 2023. $50 late fee after this date.
  18. Third-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes begin on Monday, February 13 2023.
  19. On the MIT academic academic calendar Friday, February 17 2023 is the;
    • Last day to add half-term subjects offered in first half of term (H3).
    • Last day for juniors, seniors, and graduate students to change H3 subjects to or from P/D/F grading.
    • Last day to change H3 subjects from listener to credit.
  20. Monday, February 20 2023 is Presidents’ Day holiday.
  21. Minor completion date is Friday, February 24 2023. It is the deadline for submission of Minor Completion Form for final-term seniors. $50 late fee after this date.
  22. Undergraduate registration opens for fourth-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes at 8 AM on Wednesday, March 1 2023.
  23. Graduate registration opens for fourth quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes, on Tuesday, March 7 2023 at 8 AM.
  24. Friday, March 10 2023 is the Add Date. The last day to add full-term subjects to registration.
  25. According to the MIT academic calendar, Friday, March 10 2023 is the;
    • Last day for juniors, seniors, and graduate students to change a full-term elective to or from P/D/F grading.
    • Last day to change a full-term subject from listener to credit.
    • Last day to drop half-term subjects offered in first half of term (H3).
    • Last day to change an H3 subject from credit to listener.
    • Late fee ($100) and petition are required for students completing registration after this date.
    • Last day for February 2024 degree candidates to apply for a double major.
    • Deadline for completing cross-registration. $50 late fee for petitions received after this date.
    • Deadline for students eligible for the Flexible P/NR grading option to change Fall 2022 subject to P/NR grading.
  26. Graduate registration opens for fourth-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes at 8 AM on Tuesday, March 7 2023.
  27. The half-term subjects’ final exam period (H3) is Monday, March 20 2023 to Friday, March 24 2023.
  28. Friday, March 24 2023 is the last day of classes for half-term subjects offered in first half of term (H3).
  29. MIT Spring Break 2023 is from Monday, March 27 2023 to Friday, March 31 2023.
  30. Monday, April 3 2023 is the first day of classes for half-term subjects offered in the second half of term (H4).
  31. Fourth-quarter Physical Education & Wellness classes begin on Wednesday, April 5 2023 according to the MIT academic calendar.
  32. Campus Preview Weekend begins on Thursday, April 13 2023 to Sunday, April 16 2023.
  33. Friday, April 8 2022 is the last day to add half-term subjects offered in the second half of term (H4). The last day for juniors, seniors, and graduate students to change H4 subjects to or from P/D/F grading and the last day to change H4 subjects from listener to credit.
  34. Monday, April 17 2023 is Patriots’ Day holiday.
  35. Tuesday, April 25 2023 is Drop Date. It is the last day to cancel full-term subjects from registration.
  36. Tuesday, April 25 2023 is the;
    • Last day to change a full-term subject from credit to listener.
    • Last day to add a time-arranged subject that started after beginning of the term.
    • Last day to petition for May Advanced Standing Exam (given during final exam period).
  37. Tuesday, May 2 2023 is the last day to drop half-term subjects offered in second half of term (H4). It is also the last day to change an H4 subject from credit to listener on the MIT academic calendar.
  38. Thesis is due for doctoral degrees on Friday, May 5 2023.
  39. Friday, May 12 2023 is Subjects with final exam date. No test may be given and no assignment may fall due after this date.
  40. Friday, May 12 2023 is the day for Subjects with no final exam — Undergraduate subjects: no test may be given and there may be at most one assignment due between this date and the end of the last scheduled class period in the subject.
  41. The last day of classes for Spring semester 2023 is Tuesday, May 16 2023.
  42. Final exam period for Spring 2023 is from Friday, May 19 2023 to Wednesday, May 24 2023.
  43. Friday, May 26 2023 is Grade deadline. Grades are due at noon for subjects with final exams. Term summaries of spring term grades are available to departments.
  44. Monday, May 29 2023 is Memorial Day holiday.
  45. Commencement Activities are on Thursday, June 1 2023 and Friday, June 2 2023.

Visit the MIT registrar’s website for more on MIT academic calendar or the MIT Sloan academic calendar.

Previous articleUCI Academic Calendar 2022: Important Dates & Deadlines
Next articleUCR Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.