Penn State academic calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates

1348
Penn State Academic Calendar

Penn State Academic calendar 2022-2023 shows key academic dates including the first day of classes, deadlines to add and drop classes, final exam days, graduation dates, holidays, spring break, winter break, fall break, etc.

If you’re a new student or a continuing student of The Pennsylvania State University, it is vital to check these key dates on the PSU academic calendar 2022-2023.

Penn State academic calendar Fall 2022

Penn State’s fall semester begins on August 15 2022. Below are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Fall 2022. Remember, Penn State has no Fall break but has Thanksgiving break from Sunday, November 20 2022 to Saturday, November 26 2022.

  1. Intent to Graduate – Activation Period is Monday, August 15 – Tuesday, September 6 2022.
  2. Leave of Absence deadline is Friday, August 19 2022.
  3. Penn State Move-in Day 2022 (Arrival Day) for New Students is from Friday, August 19 to Sunday, August 21 2022.
  4. Registration deadline is Sunday, August 21 2022.
  5. Fall 2022 classes begin on Monday, August 22 2022.
  6. Regular drop deadline is Saturday, August 27 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  7. Regular Add deadline is Sunday, August 28 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  8. Late Drop begins on Sunday, August 28 2022.
  9. Late Registration begins for regular session on Monday, August 29 2022.
  10. Labor Day is Monday, September 5 2022 on the Penn State Academic Calendar 2022-2023.
  11. Final Exam Conflict Filing Period is Monday, September 26 – Sunday, October 16 2022.
  12. Late Drop deadline is Friday, November 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  13. Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates deadline (Graduating Students) is Friday, November 11 2022.
  14. Thanksgiving Holiday 2022 is Sunday, November 20 – Saturday, November 26 2022.
  15. Withdrawal deadline is Friday, December 9 at 5:00 p.m. (ET) according to the Penn State academic calendar.
  16. Fall classes end on Friday, December 9 2022.
  17. Study Days is Saturday, December 10 – Sunday, December 11 2022.
  18. Final Exams for Fall semester is Monday, December 12 – Friday, December 16 2022.
  19. Penn State Commencement or graduation 2022 is Saturday, December 17 2022.
  20. Penn State winter break 2022 is from Sunday, December 18 2022 to Monday, January 2 2023.

Penn State academic calendar spring 2023

Below are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Spring 2023.

  1. Intent to Graduate Activation Period is Monday, January 2 – Monday, January 23 2023.
  2. Leave of Absence deadline is Friday, January 6 2023.
  3. Spring 2023 registration deadline is Sunday, January 8 2023. Check out LionPATH portal and PSU Canvas.
  4. Spring classes begin on Monday, January 9 2023.
  5. The regular drop deadline for First 7-Week Session is Wednesday, January 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  6. The regular add deadline for First 7-Week Session is Thursday, January 12 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  7. Late drop begins for First 7-Week Session on Thursday, January 12 on the Penn State Academic Calendar 2022-2023.
  8. Late registration begins for First 7-Week Session on Friday, January 13.
  9. The regular drop deadline is Saturday, January 14 2023 by 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  10. Regular add deadline is Sunday, January 15 2023 by 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  11. Late drop begins on Sunday, January 15 2023.
  12. Late registration begins on Monday, January 16 2023.
  13. Monday, January 16 2023 is the Martin Luther King Day holiday.
  14. Monday, February 13 2023 to Sunday, March 5 2023 is the Final Exam Conflict Filing Period on the Penn State academic calendar.
  15. Late registration deadline for First 7-Week Session is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  16. Late add deadline for First 7-Week Session is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) according to the Penn State academic calendar.
  17. Late drop deadline for First 7-Week Session is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  18. Withdrawal deadline for First 7-Week Session is Friday, February 24 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  19. First 7-Week session classes end on Friday, February 24 2023.
  20. Penn State Spring Break 2023 is from Sunday, March 5 2023 to Saturday, March 11 2023.
  21. Registration deadline for Second 7-Week session is Sunday, March 12 2023.
  22. Second 7-Week Session classes begin on Monday, March 13 2023.
  23. Regular drop deadline for Second 7-Week session is Wednesday, March 15 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  24. Regular add deadline for Second 7-Week session is Thursday, March 16 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  25. Late drop begins for Second 7-Week session on Thursday, March 16 2023.
  26. Late registration begins on Friday, March 17 2023 for Second 7-Week session.
  27. Late registration deadline is Friday, April 7 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  28. Late Add deadline is Friday, April 7 at 11:59 p.m. (ET) on the Penn State academic calendar.
  29. Late Drop deadline is Friday, April 7 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  30. Declare Concurrent Majors, Minors, or Certificates deadline for graduating Students is Friday, April 7 2023.
  31. Late Drop, Late registration, and Late add deadlines for the Second 7-Week session are Wednesday, April 19 2023.
  32. Withdrawal deadline is Friday, April 28 2023 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  33. Classes end on Friday, April 28, 2023.
  34. Study Days is from Saturday, April 29 2023 to Sunday, April 30 2023.
  35. Final Exams is from Monday, May 1 2023 to Friday, May 5 2023.
  36. PSU Commencement or graduation 2023 is from Friday, May 5 to Sunday, May 7 2023.

Check out: Survival guide to PSU Schedule of Classes.

Penn State academic calendar Summer 2022

PSU Summer semester 2022 is divided into Maymester, First 6-Week Session, Second 6-Week Session, and Regular Session. Below are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for summer sessions 2022.

Maymester

Here are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Maymester of 2022.

  1. Arrival Day for new Students is Sunday, May 8 2022.
  2. Registration deadline is Sunday, May 8 2022.
  3. Monday, May 9 – Friday, June 17 2022 is Intent to Graduate – Activation Period.
  4. Maymester Classes Begin on Monday, May 9 2022.
  5. Regular Drop deadline is Tuesday, May 10 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  6. Regular add deadline is Wednesday, May 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET). (ET)
  7. Late Drop Begins on Wednesday, May 11 2022 on the Penn State academic calendar.
  8. Late Registration Begins on Thursday, May 12 2022.
  9. Monday, May 30 2022 is Memorial Day Holiday.
  10. Late Drop deadline is Tuesday, May 31 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  11. Withdrawal deadline is Monday, June 6 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  12. Classes End on Monday, June 6 2022.
  13. Study Days is Tuesday, June 7 2022.
  14. Final Exams is Wednesday, June 8 2022.
  15. Declare Minor deadline (Graduating Students) is Monday, August 1 2022.
  16. Commencement is Saturday, August 13 2022.

First 6-Week Session

Below are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for First 6-Week Summer Session 2022.

  1. New Students Arrival Day is Sunday, May 15 2022.
  2. Registration deadline is also Sunday, May 15 2022.
  3. Intent to Graduate – Activation Period is Monday, May 9 – Friday, June 17 2022.
  4. First 6-Week Session classes begin on Monday, May 16 2022.
  5. Wednesday, May 18 2022 is Regular Drop deadline.
  6. Regular Add deadline is Thursday, May 19 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  7. Late Drop Begins on Thursday, May 19 2022.
  8. Late Registration Begins on Friday, May 20 2022.
  9. Memorial Day Holiday is Monday, May 30 2022 on the Penn State academic calendar 2022-2023.
  10. Late Drop Deadline is Thursday, June 16 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  11. Withdrawal deadline is Friday, June 24 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  12. First 6-Week Session classes end on Friday, June 24 2022.
  13. Study Days is Saturday, June 25 – Sunday, June 26 2022.
  14. First 6-Week Session Final Exams is Monday, June 27 2022.

Second 6-Week Session

Below are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Second 6-Week Summer Session 2022.

  1. Arrival Day for new Students is Monday, June 27 2022.
  2. Registration deadline is Tuesday, June 28 2022.
  3. Intent to Graduate – Activation Period is Monday, May 9 – Friday, June 17 2022.
  4. Second 6-Week Session Classes Begin on Wednesday, June 29 2022.
  5. Regular Drop deadline is Friday, July 1 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  6. Regular add deadline is Saturday, July 2 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  7. Late Drop begins on Saturday, July 2 2022.
  8. Late Registration Begins on Sunday, July 3 2022.
  9. Independence Day Holiday is Monday, July 4 2022.
  10. Late Drop deadline is Monday, August 1 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  11. Declare Minor – Deadline (Graduating Students) Monday, August 1 2022.
  12. Withdrawal deadline is Wednesday, August 10 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  13. Second 6-Week Session Classes End on Wednesday, August 10 2022.
  14. Study Days is Thursday, August 11 2022.
  15. Final Exams is Friday, August 12 2022.

Regular Session

Here are important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Summer Regular Session 2022.

  1. Intent to Graduate – Activation Period is Monday, May 9 – Friday, June 17 2022.
  2. Arrival Day for New Students is Sunday, May 15 2022.
  3. Sunday, May 15 2022 is Registration deadline.
  4. Regular Session classes begin on Monday, May 16 2022.
  5. Regular drop deadline is Friday, May 20 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  6. Regular add deadline is Saturday, May 21 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  7. Late drop begins on Saturday, May 21 2022.
  8. Late registration begins on Sunday, May 22 2022.
  9. Memorial Day Holiday is Monday, May 30 2022.
  10. Independence Day Holiday is Monday, July 4 2022.
  11. Late drop deadline is Saturday, July 23 at 11:59 p.m. (ET)
  12. Declare Minor deadline (Graduating Students) is Monday, August 1 2022.
  13. Withdrawal deadline is Wednesday, August 10 2022 at 5:00 p.m. (ET)
  14. Regular Session classes end on Wednesday, August 10 2022 on PSU academic calendar.
  15. Study Days is Thursday, August 11 2022.
  16. Regular Session final exams is Friday, August 12 2022.

For more on the Penn State Academic calendar, visit the PSU academic calendar registrar website. Remember, these dates may vary among campuses.

Penn State semester classification

Semester classification or Class standing (sometimes referred to as “class level” or “classification”) is a traditional designation used to define a student’s progress toward their graduation goal. Undergraduate students are classified according to the number of credits earned (institutional and transfer credits).

An undergraduate degree candidate’s semester classification is used to establish how early a student may register, assign classes with a prerequisite semester classification, change of campus assignment, tuition calculation, and eligibility for parking on campus.

What is your semester standing at PSU?

This classification is based on the following table of credits earned.

Total Credits EarnedSemester ClassificationStatus
14.0 or fewer1First-Year Student
14.1 to 292First-Year Student
29.1 to 443Sophomore
44.1 to 594Sophomore
59.1 to 745Junior
74.1 to 896Junior
89.1 to 1047Senior
104.1 to 1198Senior
119.1 to 1349Senior
134.1 to 14910Senior
149.1 or more11Senior
Penn state semester classification.
Previous articleJagNet: Helpful Guide to STC Login Portal 2022
Next articleDepaul Academic Calendar 2022-2023: Important Dates
I'm just another internet enthusiast who likes sharing useful online info with university/college students worldwide, and that brings joy to my heart. Contact me if you have any questions or suggestions for me.